On being Bold

I’ve never done this before, but I decided to go for it.  While out shopping yesterday I noticed a couple registering for wedding gifts.  Perhaps I was emboldened by her gorgeous dress – I felt compelled to say something to her.  But since I didn’t know her, I restrained myself.  At first.

After walking around the store we ended up in the same department.  Once again I walked away.  But I stopped myself, fished out a business card from my purse, and turned around to say something to them.  Of course I did have to compliment her dress – but I also introduced myself and handed them my card.  Upon being told the wedding is to take place out-of-state, I invited the bride-to-be to check out my blog anyway.  I congratulated them and walked away.  The whole exchange took maybe two minutes.

I was proud of myself for being bold enough to walk up to someone unsolicited and hand them a card.  When I am in a wedding related setting I am not shy at all.  But to walk up to a total stranger?  Well that was a big step for me.

But then I started wondering…did they think me rude or obtrusive?  I certainly didn’t mean to be.  I genuinely want to help couples be Carefree – even the ones that can’t or don’t hire me.

Once or twice before I have been at a restaurant or coffee shop and have overheard meetings between couples and potential wedding professionals.  I’ve always wondered if I should have discreetly handed them my card.  Of course I wouldn’t do that if the person was obviously providing the same services I provide (I don’t want to poach) – but if the potential is a DJ or photographer, I have often wondered why not?

My question to you is: as a bride-to-be, would you welcome an unsolicited wedding professional approaching you at a store or restaurant or is that gauche?  What are your thoughts?

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

