When things go wrong Part II

We’ve covered cakes, flowers and chairs.  So what else can go wrong on your wedding day?

How about your DJ?  I had a wedding once where the DJ’s equipment went out on her – during several key moments throughout the event.  And although the DJ had a back up plan of hooking up her iPod, she neglected to load the couple’s specific song choices onto it.  Which is why I always carry my iPod with me, pre-loaded with my couple’s special songs.

And what about prior to your wedding day?  There are plenty of things that can go wrong leading up to your wedding day.  As a DoC, one of my jobs is to confirm arrival times for your wedding day vendors.  Imagine my surprise recently when calling to confirm arrival times – the rental company could not guarantee delivery prior to 5:00!  Not good when the ceremony is scheduled to begin at 5:15.  Before contacting my Bride, I had contacted the venue to see if we could have the chairs delivered a day early.  When that didn’t work I sourced another company to pick up and deliver the chairs.  I then contacted my Bride to let her know we had a problem and what I had done to solve it.

Unfortunately for this Bride that wasn’t the end of the surprises.  We also found out the chairs had to be picked up the next day at an additional fee.  Unfortunately for her I could not get the fees waived or reduced.

Which brings me to an important point: I can’t always fix things.  What I can do is try to mitigate the impact when things go wrong.  I do the research to find alternative fixes – or even fix things that aren’t right – so when you find out there is a problem, I already have a solution for you.  Can you imagine your guests sitting on bird poop chairs?  Or there not being chairs for them to sit in??  I am an advocate for you so you don’t have to do the dirty work of telling your wedding professionals you are unhappy and want a refund.

Even the best planned wedding can have something go wrong – be it major like dead flowers (or a wrong cake) or minor like adjusting the timeline to accommodate late guests.  Having a person not emotionally attached to the day to handle things ensures you are Carefree.

BE the Carefree Bride.

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Must Read, Real Weddings, Uncategorized, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When things go wrong Part II

  1. This is the second time I’ve been to your site. Thanks for providing more information.

Leave a Reply

