Happy Thanksgiving

Wishing you a happy Thanksgiving and a joyful holiday season.

According to my Facebook newsfeed, the popular thing to do this month is to post something you are thankful for each day.  I like the idea of this.  I try to be thankful each day of the year.  But since I am not writing about it on Facebook, I thought I would once again take a brief break from all things wedding and post my top 24 things I am thankful for…

  1. I am thankful for a second chance at love.  I am thankful I have a husband that loves and supports me fully – no matter how crazy things may get.  And I am thankful that he loves my boys as if they are his own.
  2. I am thankful for my boys.  As crazy as my boys make me sometimes (What?  You try having two 14-year-old boys in your house.) I am so glad to have them. 
  3. I am thankful for my ex-husband.  As crazy as he makes me sometimes (he is an ex for a reason) I would not have my boys if it weren’t for him.
  4. I am thankful for my amazing in-laws.  I am so lucky to have found a man who not only loves me but his family loves me – and my boys – as well. And I am thankful for my former in-laws as well.  Though we didn’t always see eye-to-eye they were my family for a long time.  And some of them still are.
  5. I am thankful for my friends.  My friends are extremely important to me – my surrogate family.  From Mom #2 to my Sole Sisters – I love them all and would not be the person I am today without them.
  6. I am thankful for Danielle Penland.  She reached out to me when I was engaged and showed me a new career path.  And then she sold me the business when she decided to retire.  I am eternally grateful.
  7. I am thankful for my new car.  I can’t make this list entirely mushy, can I?  I always dreamed of owning a VW Bug convertible and I finally have one.  And I love her.
  8. I am thankful for my health, and the health of my loved ones.  And I am also thankful for modern medicine – I am quite grateful I don’t have to have leeches put on me when I get sick.
  9. I am thankful for my part-time job which has enabled me to more aggressively pursue my dream of doing weddings full-time.
  10. I am thankful for my home.  I have my white picket fence and I love it.
  11. I am thankful for J.K. Rowling.  Without her I would never have met Harry Potter.  And that would have just been sad.
  12. I am thankful for books to read, movies to watch and music to listen to.  And that my eyes and ears function properly so I may enjoy them all.
  13. I am thankful for my pets.  Bellatrix Lestrange Louzau may not be the tiny dog I wanted but she brings much joy to my life. And my cat Spike has been with me a long time and even if he frustrates me sometimes I am always glad to cuddle up with him at night.
  14. I am thankful for me time.  This usually means a nice mani and pedi or a massage or facial but sometimes it means just vegging in front of the TV watching whatever my heart desires or reading in a quite corner somewhere.
  15. I am thankful for Joss Whedon – he brought me Buffy, Angel, Firefly and Dr. Horrible.  Joss is my master now.
  16. I am thankful for technology.  Seriously – how much simpler is life now?  I know technology can complicate matters but I love being able to call my husband when I forgot to tell him I need something at the store.  Or much more likely, that I can call him when I am lost and he will point me in the right direction.
  17. Along those same lines, I am thankful for the internet.  It is so much easier to get information today!  I can find anything I want at lightening speed – and that beats driving from store to store any way you say it. Besides without the internet I would not be able to have this blog to share with readers like you.
  18. I am thankful for Facebook.  I know – there are still those who have not come over to the dark side.  But I love being able to see the photos from the party you went to last weekend and I love being able to share my photos as well.  Plus, I enjoy some of those time-wasting games (not Farmville) and inane questionnaires.
  19. I am thankful for pretty things – be they flowers, sunsets, shoes or clothes, I am glad to see them and brighten my day.
  20. I am thankful for Nathan Fillion, Antonio Banderas, Ryan Gosling and Ryan Reynolds.  ’nuff said.
  21. I am thankful for Jim and Brian Henson.  I grew up watching the Muppets on Sesame Street, The Muppet Show, or Fraggle Rock and I bought videos for my boys to watch when they were young.  I love all of the Muppets but Fozzie will always be my favorite. And I am also thankful for Walt Disney.  For too many reasons to list.
  22. I am thankful for cruises.  My most favorite form of vacation – it is absolutely the most relaxing vacation you can take.  And I am thankful for my Royal Caribbean credit card which enabled me to take a free cruise – so that when this posts I will be in Belize.
  23. I am thankful for birthdays.  I love any reason to celebrate, including my own birthday two days ago.  I am thankful for each year I am here and proudly proclaim my age as 41. 
  24. I am thankful for Christmas carols and movies.  ‘Tis the season to be jolly.

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

