The Klopfs

I never know what I will be doing on a Friday night.  Last Friday, at around 4:00 in the afternoon, I received an email from my friend Meri.  She was supposed to be officiating a wedding that evening for some friends but was too ill to do it.  Was I available?

Luckily I was!  So Friday night I drove out to Georgetown to the home of Jon and Bobbi.  They were having a small gathering of family and friends and were planning to surprise their guests with an intimate wedding.

The mood was definitely casual – the groom wore a white short sleeve shirt and khaki shorts with the bride in a white with colorful flowers sundress.  Since the couple are Wiccan, we held the ceremony in their sacred circle in the backyard.  This was my first Wiccan ceremony and to be honest I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. 

The ceremony was not all that different from most of my wedding ceremonies except this one included a handfasting (which included not only the bride and groom but the bride’s daughter as well).  The handfasting has much of the same verbiage as the hand ceremony I have used numerous times before but with the addition of different colored ribbons which are tied at the end of the ceremony.  I believe this is the origin of the phrase “tie the knot”!

I love learning new things, especially when I can apply them to weddings.  I am so honored to be able to do what I do.  Thank you Jon and Bobbi for allowing me to play a part in such an important moment in your lives.  I wish you a lifetime of love and happiness.

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Officant/Ceremony Ideas, Real Weddings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

