Shower Games

Wow - these dresses are pretty good!

I have a friend that once insisted she was not going to have a Bridal Shower (or Baby Shower when it comes time for that).  When I asked her why, she said she hates the games that people play.  I told her I would throw her showers and would only play pre-approved games.  I thought I would share some of my favorites.

Bridal Bingo – This is a favorite because it takes one of the most boring parts of the shower (for guests) and makes it fun.  I take the couple’s registry lists and create Bingo cards based on their items.  Usually I will go more generic – instead of a Tassimo I would probably put coffee maker, that sort of thing.  You can also do Buzz Word Bingo and have quotes of things you think she will say at the shower.  I like to do a combination of the two.  It does take some time to create but it isn’t hard – you just have to make sure you have enough different cards for your guest list.  You can also buy pre-made sets if you don’t have the time.

Toilet Paper Wedding Dress – Guests are paired up and given a roll of toilet paper.  Then within a time limit (5 or 10 minutes) they create a wedding dress out of toilet paper.  When everyone is done, the Bride-to-Be chooses the best to win a prize. I also like to give a worst prize because they can be really funny!

Blind Drawing – each guest is given a pen and paper (and maybe a book to write on).  Then the paper is placed on their head and they have 2 minutes to draw a wedding dress – without looking!  Bride-to-Be then chooses best (and worst).  Makes a fun keepsake!

Bridal Crossword/Word Search – Prior to the shower, have the Bride-to-Be answer 10 questions about herself – make sure they are one word answers (favorite color, birth month, that kind of thing).  Then create a crossword or word search puzzle for your guests.  First one to finish correctly wins.

You may have noticed that all of these games require little to no participation from the Bride-to-Be herself so here are a few you can involve her in:

10 Questions – Prior to the shower, contact the Groom-to-Be and ask him to provide 10 questions about himself (and answers) that his Bride-to-Be should know.  For every wrong answer, she has to put a piece of gum in her mouth.  If the questions are really hard, it can make for a fun photo at the end.  When they did this to me at my shower, they used Bubblicious or something like it – no small pieces of Dentyne or Trident for me!

Why I love him – Traditionally a Gerber Daisy is used for this:  the Bride-to-Be is handed a flower and as she removes each petal she has to say one thing she loves about her Groom-to-Be. (I once used a Carnation.  Sorry Susie – but the look on your face when I explained the game was worth it! 😉 )

Don’t forget to have prizes!  Travel size items from Bath and Body Works are always fun – as are $5 gift cards.  You don’t have to spend a lot of money to have a lot of fun!

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

