Wedding Nails

 

This manicure is already a week old - and it still looks perfect!

I love getting my nails done!  I usually get a pedicure once a month – I love the pampering of it all (even though my feet get really ticklish with the pumice stone!)….and I believe everyone should indulge on occasion.  It is absolutely worth it.

 And although I love getting a manicure too, I don’t usually do that.  Or if I do, I only have my nails buffed – no color.  Why?  Because I rarely make it out of the parking lot without messing up a nail!  I’ve done artificial nails in the past – and I have to admit I love them.  I can get color and I don’t have to worry about messing them up on my way out of the salon…but when they come off my nails are ruined for months.  Sigh.  What’s a girl to do?
 
Well, last weekend I was in Dallas for some wedding planning for my friend Magan’s wedding.  She wanted to get a pedicure and since I had just gotten one the week before, I opted for a manicure.  Magan had just told me about this new manicure the girls in her office rave about so I decided to give it a try.
 
It’s called a Gel Manicure and I am hoping I can find someone in Austin that does it because I am in LOVE!  It’s a lengthy process – it took about an hour – because between each layer of gel you have to cure under the UV light.  But my favorite part is I can have colors!  I’m not limited to just a French Manicure or buffed nails!  And did I mention these are my real nails??
 
I’m told the color will last two to three weeks!  I’ve never had color polish last on my nails more than a few days.  It has been a week and my nails still look as great as the first day.  And let me tell you, I am not easy on my nails.  I type all day, I have a dog that likes to play rough, and frankly, I frequently use my nails as tools ( after all, who needs a screwdriver when you have a perfectly good nail handy?).  My nails are stronger too – I haven’t broken one all week and they are at the length that usually does break.
 
My understanding is I will have to go back to a salon to have the color taken off – I’ll get back to you on that.  And I will also update you on how long it really does last.  I can tell you right now I am really impressed at the end of week one.  So check back in a week for the update. 😉
 
I did some light research online in prepping for this post and it seems there is a little controversy surrounding the gel manicure.  If done improperly, or with poor quality knock-offs, there appears to be a small risk of nerve damage.  It also sounds like I actually had a Shellac manicure based on the descriptions I’m reading on-line.  Read another review from the Dallas Morning News here.
 
I think the gel manicure is a wonderful alternative for a bride that doesn’t want to get artificial nails for her wedding but still wants to get a manicure.  And if you have a tight wedding day schedule, you can have it done days beforehand without having to worry about your nails getting ruined.  It’s the best of both worlds!
 
Be Carefree,
Suzanne
About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Nails

  1. Pingback: Wedding Nails – A followup | Be the Carefree Bride

Leave a Reply

