An intro to Paper Quilling

No one is allergic to these flowers!

We  now interrupt my regularly scheduled blog for this important trend update…

My friend Melanie Grizzel of She-n-He Photography (she’s amazing really!) posted a link to this blog postfrom Austin Wedding Blog on her facebook recently.  I can’t stop looking at these photos.  Although I have not witnessed this trend in any of my weddings yet, I can certainly see the appeal.  I really adore the cakes!  And can you just picture a boutonnierre made this way?

The technique is called paper quilling and although the blog post explains it a little I did some research on it myself.  It’s origins appear to be in dispute with some sites saying it started with the ancient Egyptians and others stating the Renaissance with French and Italian nuns and monks using quilling to decorate book covers and religious items with the designs mimicking the ironwork of the day.  It gained popularity with wealthy European women in the 18th century as a way to keep their hands busy and found its way to America during Colonial times.  It has fallen in and out of popularity through the centuries though I have a hard time understanding why it wouldn’t always be popular!

What do you think?  Will you be incorporating any paper quilling in your wedding?

Be Carefree,

Suzanne

About bethecarefreebride

I am passionate that everyone should enjoy your wedding day - stress free! Read on to learn how to be the Carefree Bride.
This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An intro to Paper Quilling

  1. Pingback: Paper Quilling Weddings | Be the Carefree Bride

Leave a Reply

